Italian Wedding Soup

Image

So just an FYI about me, I don’t like left-overs! I know I know…this fact goes against being American, but I can’t help it! The only thing I hate more that left-overs is fast food, so on days when work has put me in a pinch, this Italian Wedding Soup is just the thing I need to keep me out of the drive-thru!

Ingredients:

1 bag italian meatballs
1 cup chopped white onions
1 cup chopped carrots
3 tablespoons chopped garlic
1/2 teaspoon salt
Ground black pepper, to taste
4 cups low-sodium chicken broth
1 (28 ounces) can diced tomatoes, drained and halved
1 cup uncooked orzo
2 cups fresh spinach roughly chopped
DIRECTIONS:
Melt the butter in a large soup pot over medium heat. Add onions, carrots, garlic, salt and pepper and cook until translucent and fragrant, about 4-6 minutes. Stir in broth, tomatoes, and 2 cups water. Cover and cook 10 minutes over medium heat or until soup comes to a boil adding the meatballs.   Add the orzo to the boiling soup and stir.  Orzo should be fully submerged. Cover and simmer for another 12-15 minutes over medium heat. Stir in spinach. Test a meatball ensure it is warm through. Test a piece of orzo, the pasta should be al dente. Taste and adjust seasoning. Serve immediately!
INGREDIENTS:
1 bag italian meatballs
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 cup chopped white onions
1 cup chopped carrots
3 tablespoons chopped garlic
1/2 teaspoon salt
Ground black pepper, to taste
4 cups low-sodium chicken broth
1 (28 ounces) can diced tomatoes, drained and halved
1 cup uncooked orzo
2 cups fresh spinach roughly chopped
DIRECTIONS:
Melt the butter in a large soup pot over medium heat. Add onions, carrots, garlic, salt and pepper and cook until translucent and fragrant, about 4-6 minutes. Stir in broth, tomatoes, and 2 cups water. Cover and cook 10 minutes over medium heat or until soup comes to a boil adding the meatballs.   Add the orzo to the boiling soup and stir.  Orzo should be fully submerged. Cover and simmer for another 12-15 minutes over medium heat. Stir in spinach. Test a meatball ensure it is warm through. Test a piece of orzo, the pasta should be al dente. Taste and adjust seasoning. Serve immediately.
Serves 6 with a nice crusty bread!
6 thoughts on “Italian Wedding Soup

  1. @daisyandthefox this is one of my fav go to soups. Actually, my daughter requested it when it was “cold” in SC…needless to say between the two of us, the pot was CLEAN quickly 🙂

  2. Heya excellent website! Does running a blog like this
    require a large amount of work? I’ve no understanding of coding however I was hoping to start my own blog in the near future. Anyways, if you have any recommendations or techniques for new blog owners please share. I understand this is off topic however I simply wanted to ask. Kudos!

    • Hi Jeremiah! Thank you so much for the compliment! When you’re ready you will see you don’t need code at all to create a blog. WordPress has excellent templates! The hardest part is SELECTING one. You can do it 🙂

  3. I love this idea. I’ve been struggling on what to do dunrig the weak for food. I end up just surrendering to fast food..and I am so sick of it and so sick to just eating salads because they’re quick and easy to make. What do you do for breakfast? I’m always stumped or in a hurry.

  4. Just wanted to say thank you for doing what you do. I’m a 21 year old cleolge student living on my own who wants to buck the trend of beer and burgers being mainstays of my diet and your site is quite helpful!

Leave a Reply

