Foolproof Cream Biscuits

I raised a “carb queen” with a great palate and then there’s me,  I’m NOT a bread lover AT ALL, but I am PERSISTENT. Very rarely do I eat sandwiches or even toast, but my youngest is a true connoisseur with very distinguished taste. I’d love to have her palate! At the age of 8, she announced, “Mom I LOVE sourdough bread and I’d like my own loaf when you go grocery shopping!” I think that was the birth of an unspoken challenge between me and the little miss. I’m determined to create the carbs she loves and gain her stamp of approval. So imagine my surprise when I came across such a SIMPLE recipe that left her dancing in her seat and my son finishing the last morsel! Gail 1, Kids 0 🙂

Cream Biscuits

Literally you only need 2 ingredients to create such light tasty biscuits in minutes! Ready…set…go!

Ingredients:

2 1/4 c self rising flour

1 1/4 c heavy cream

*If you’re anything like me, I don’t have an abundance of self rising flour in my pantry so to make the use of your all-purpose flour for this recipe, use the following recipe:

1 tablespoon of baking powder

3/4 teaspoon salt

2 cups plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

**I like my biscuits on the sweet side so I add a pinch of sugar

Directions:

Elevate the oven rack to the second highest position in the oven and preheat the oven to 450 degrees.

Prepare your pan for baking. I prefer soft, flakey biscuits so I used my cast iron coated with sweet cream biscuits. If you prefer your biscuits a bit more crisp, use a baking sheet and make sure the biscuits are placed far enough apart to allow air to flow between them.

Whisk 2 cups of the flour in a large bowl. Make a deep hollow in the center of the flour with the back of your hand. Pour 1 cup of cream into the hollow and stir with a rubber spatula or large metal spoon, using broad circular strokes to quickly pull the flour into the cream. Mix just until the dry ingredients are moistened and the sticky dough begins to pull away from the sides of the bowl. If there is some flour remaining on the bottom and sides of the bowl, stir in 1 to 4 tablespoons of the reserved cream, just enough to incorporate the remaining flour into the shaggy, wet dough. If the dough seems too wet, use more flour when shaping.

Sprinkle a cutting board with some of the reserved flour. Turn the dough out onto the board and sprinkle it lightly with flour. Flour your hands and then fold the dough over in half. Pat the dough into a round about 1/3 to 1/2-inch-thick, using a little additional flour if the dough is sticky. Fold the dough in half a second time. If the dough is still clumpy, pat and fold it a third time.

Choose your biscuit size! Pat the dough into a 1/2-inch-thick round for a normal biscuit, 3/4 inch thick for a tall biscuit, and 1 inch thick for a giant biscuit. Brush off any visible flour from the top. Dip a 2 1/2-inch biscuit cutter into the reserved flour and cut out the biscuits, starting at the outside edge and cutting very close together, being careful not to twist the cutter. Re-flour the cutter after each biscuit. (The scraps may be combined to make additional biscuits, although these scraps make tougher biscuits so cut your dough carefully.)

Using a metal spatula, move the cream biscuits to the pan, skillet, or baking sheet. Bake the biscuits for 6 minutes, then rotate the pan so the front is now turned to the back. If the bottoms are browning too quickly, slide another baking pan underneath to add insulation. Continue baking another 4 to 8 minutes until the cream biscuits are lightly golden brown. When the biscuits are done, a total of 10 to 14 minutes, remove from the oven and lightly brush the top of the biscuits with softened or melted butter.

12 thoughts on “Foolproof Cream Biscuits

    • Thank you so much Nettie! I made these over the Christmas break and my son and daughter inhaled 2 batches! They are soooo good! I’m glad you enjoyed them too!

    • Good morning @fatcattn unfortunately the print option with wordpress only allows you to print the entire page 😦
      You can however cut and past just the ingredients and directions into word and print from there. I hope this helps. Have a great Easter

      • Thanks for your reply. I like to try to print from the bloggers page so I can remember for reference & give credit to that person when asked for a recipe. I was wondering if I was missing something with the printing options. I did end up copying & pasting. Can’t wait to try the recipe!

  1. I used a square cutter which minimised the left over bits and had them with a smear of jam – yum 🙂

  2. This is not only a good biscuit, add some dried fruit (cranberries, cherries, chopped apricots) and maybe 2 pinches of sugar. Shape the dough into a circle and cut into wedges. Bake as directed and remove from oven. Serve with butter and jam or jelly if desired, and you have “Scones”.

Leave a Reply

